The safe road.

Doubt. It can break you down until you genuinely don’t have any answers left to give. It can make you feel hopeless. And like nothing is going to work out. It can make you want to just quit trying. To just stand still and not move forward. To just stop and stay where you are. Because where you are is safe. And because change, and risk is scary.

But instead of turning back and standing still when doubt tries to over-take you. You just have to run for it. Choose where you want to be and run at it. Don’t let doubt or fear stop you from getting everything you want out of life.

Image

“Don’t let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.”

“I had this picture in my head of where I oughta be and when. But it’s just like the good advice that John gave when he said life it happens while we’re busy making plans.”

“And there was nothing like the very first time that I saw open road. And I wasn’t terrified to ride it on my own.”

“You only get one life. You only get one chance at it. So tell me now. Is this where you belong? You only get one life. It’s never too late to make a change. So tell me now. Is this where you belong?”

“This is my temporary home. It’s not where I belong. Windows and rooms that I’m passing through. This is just a stop on the way to where I’m going. I’m not afraid because I know this is my temporary home.”

Image

If there is something  that you just know in your heart you want more than where you are now. If there is somewhere you just know you want to be more. But you’re scared. Scared to take the risk. Just jump. Stop playing it safe and just jump into it. Run at it and never look back. Doubt will do nothing but break you down. Nothing but keep you from being where you really want to be. Don’t be afraid to dream. And don’t be afraid to make those dreams come true. Don’t think about what you’re giving up. Think about all the things that you will gain. Think about everything that will come of just taking this one little leap of faith. And trusting that life will take you where you need to end up.

The safe road is just that… safe. But is it really where you want to be?

“I’ve got my heart in the right place. But that place is millions of miles away.”

Until next time.

xoxo

Emily.

One thought on “The safe road.

Leave a Reply

